#### SATIBA AGM

#### 05 October 2017 at 17h00

#### Leriba Hotel & Spa, Clubview in Pretoria

Present: Michael Pepper Charlotte Ingram Yvonne Holt Lawrence Gobetz Calista Hardwick Arien van der Merwe Ana Sterrenberg Theo le Roux Danie Du Toit Hans van der Heever Lynne Pickering Michelle Narayan Bernice Blignaut Jooste Vermuelen Kuben Vather Robert Crookes Yvonne Cordner Carol Tonnesen Sandra Venter Cleo Ndlovu Philip Venter

Apologies received:

None. Three ordinary members were not present.

No supplementary items received for the agenda.

## 1. Introduction and quorum

Sandra Venter welcomed everyone to the meeting. 50% of members are required to attend the AGM. More than 70% were present, so a quorum was confirmed.

## 2. Notice of meeting

The meeting was called within the prescribed period and everyone received an agenda within the period. There were no questions and the agenda was closed.

# 3. Confirmation of previous minutes

The minutes of the previous meeting had been circulated and everyone had received a copy. No changes were made and the previous minutes were accepted as correct.

# 4. Chairman's report - Prof Michael Pepper

It gives me great pleasure to report on the activities of SATiBA over the past year. I am delighted to inform you that SATiBA is now firmly established in the South African tissue banking landscape and is recognized as the appropriate lobbying group for tissue banking, particularly as far as regulatory and training matters are concerned.

At the outset I would like to thank my fellow board members for their tireless efforts and dedication to SATIBA and its objectives. SATIBA is registered as a not-for-profit company, and I wish to draw to your attention the fact that the members of the board render their services without being remunerated.

As agreed previously, SATiBA will hold a conference and workshops on alternate years. This year is our conference year, and we have hosted a very successful international conference with very high quality speakers and excellent attendance. Our sincere thanks to Sandra Venter for all her efforts to ensure the successful and smooth running of the conference proceedings.

## Policy and standards

Based on the recognition that the South African legislation does not adequately cover tissue banking requirements, SATiBA has embarked on an extensive policy and standards drafting programme. The different sections and the people responsible therefore are listed below. Working groups have been constituted and work is underway. In the absence of formal adoption of these documents by the National Department of Health (NDoH), SATiBA will embark on a process of self-regulation. It is however our intention to present this work once completed to the NDoH and to assist the Government in the adoption of policy, regulations and guidelines as they pertain to tissue banking.

Organ & tissue donation policy – Prof Michael Pepper

## Standards

- Bone & tendon Cleo Ndhlovu
- Cornea and eye Dr Eduard Sevenster (Carol Tonnesen)
- Skin Dr Rachael Moore (Yvonne Cordner)
- Heart valves Hans van den Heever
- Amnion Cleo Ndhlovu (Yvonne Holt)
- Gametes Dr Lawrence Gobetz
- Blood and blood products already in existence
- Stem cells Yvonne Holt, to review existing standards and to harmonise
- Bone Marrow Registry

  Charlotte Ingram, Bone Marrow registry standards are in
  draft format and currently undergoing review with the Department of Health (DoH)

### **Projects**

Several projects are underway in SATIBA or are being conducted in collaboration with other organizations / entities:

- Working with the W Cape government as a pilot project of other state entities to increase tissue donation (Sandra Venter)
- Methods to increase tissue donation (Yvonne Cordner)
- Medical devices and human tissues (Cleo Ndhlovu and others)
- Intern registration with the HPCSA (Next Biosciences)

In closing, I would like to once again acknowledge the immense contribution of my fellow board members to the successful running of SATIBA. I have no doubt that SATIBA will go from strength to strength and the year that lies ahead promises to be an exciting and productive one.

## **Michael Pepper**

- Financial report Yvonne Holt Presented by Dr Yvonne Holt. Please see attached document - Financials
- 6. Secretarial report Robert Crookes

The South African Burn Society has discontinued their membership.

The Organ Donor Foundation of South Africa has joined the Association.

7. Matters arising – Michael Pepper

The formation of the ethics committee has taken place. Two external people accepted the invitation to serve on the ethics committee, namely Prof Anne Pope from UCT and Prof. Kimanthree Moodley from University of Stellenbosch. Should any dispute or issue arise, a committee would be constituted of these 2 people plus the Chairperson of the board and one other board member. The committee's recommendations will be final.

### 8. Resolutions – Yvonne Holt

According to the MOI, directors will serve a term of 3 years. Every odd numbered year, a third of the directors need to step down. Michael Pepper and Sandra Venter stood down this year, and have been re-nominated. Formal nominations were also received for Robert Crookes, Kuben Vather and Carol Tonnesen.

All members have voting rights; however, an ordinary member organisation has two votes and associate members one vote. The associate member organisations present are the Burn Care Trust and the Organ Donor Foundation.

All the nominations were received and accepted in writing and the Confidentiality Agreement was signed by each of them.

Resolution No. 1: Acceptance of the financials All in favour.

Resolution No. 2: Appointment of Michael Pepper as a director of the board Seconded by Cleo Ndhlovu.

Resolution No. 3: Appointment of Sandra Venter as a director of the board Seconded by Kuben Vather.

Resolution No. 4: Appointment of Robert Crookes as a director of the board Seconded by Sandra Venter.

Resolution No. 5: Appointment of Kuben Vather as a director of the board Seconded by Charlotte Ingram.

Resolution No. 6: Appointment of Carol Tonnesen as a director of the board Seconded by Yvonne Cordner.

### Voting results of board members

#### **Resolution 1**

A 51% vote is required and the ballot reflected 21 for, 0 against and 0 abstentions representing 100% approval. The resolution was therefore carried.

#### **Resolution 2**

A 51% vote is required and the ballot reflected 21 for, 1 against and 0 abstentions representing - 95% approval. The resolution was therefore carried.

### **Resolution 3**

A 51% vote is required and the ballot reflected 21 for, 1 against and 0 abstentions representing 95% approval. The resolution was therefore carried.

### **Resolution 4**

A 51% vote is required and the ballot reflected 20 for, 0 against and 2 abstentions representing 91% approval. The resolution was therefore carried.

### **Resolution 5**

A 51% vote is required and the ballot reflected 20 for, 0 against and 2 abstentions representing 91% approval. The resolution was therefore carried.

## **Resolution 6**

A 51% vote is required and the ballot reflected 18 for, 0 against and 4 abstentions representing 82% approval. The resolution was therefore carried.

The newly elected board members were therefore confirmed as: Michael Pepper; Sandra Venter; Robert Crookes; Kuben Vather; Carol Tonnesen.

9. The meeting closed at 17h30.